ARC Review: Spellhacker [Blog Tour]

Title: Spellhacker
Author: M.K. England
My rating:⭐⭐⭐⭐💫
Genre/s and Tags: Young Adult, Science Fiction, Fantasy, Adventure, LGTBQ+, Non-binary rep, F/Non-binary pairing, Other queer characters
Publication date: January 21, 2020
Goodreads synopsis:

From the author of The Disasters, this genre-bending YA fantasy heist story is perfect for fans of Marie Lu and Amie Kaufman.

In Kyrkarta, magic—known as maz—was once a freely available natural resource. Then an earthquake released a magical plague, killing thousands and opening the door for a greedy corporation to make maz a commodity that’s tightly controlled—and, of course, outrageously expensive.

Which is why Diz and her three best friends run a highly lucrative, highly illegal maz siphoning gig on the side. Their next job is supposed to be their last heist ever.

But when their plan turns up a powerful new strain of maz that (literally) blows up in their faces, they’re driven to unravel a conspiracy at the very center of the spellplague—and possibly save the world.

Back again with another tour stop! Today is my stop in the Spellhacker Blog Tour hosted by The Fantastic Flying Book Club and I have a review to share with you book nerds.

Spellhacker is one of my most anticipated releases this 2020 and I adored reading it! It’s absolutely delightful! With queer characters everywhere and a fast-paced and fun story, you just can’t help but enjoy this book!

Good writing

The writing style is good! Spellhacker is told in the first person point of view and that really allowed me to get to know the main character and see the story unfold the way she saw it. The tone is light and fun, but it can also get exciting or thrilling and even emotional.

Memorable characters

There are a lot of memorable characters in this book.

Diz, the main character, is great. She’s hilarious and talented, but also very insecure and maybe a little bit emotionally stunted, too. She had bad experiences in the past, which makes it understandable that she’s afraid of letting herself feel. Still, there were moments that I was frustrated at her. Fortunately, she redeemed herself and I loved her character development! I also loved that I was sucked into her thoughts and feelings. Reading the story through her perspective was exciting!

The minor characters are also memorable. Remi is too precious for this world, Jaesin is such a dad, and Ania is amazing! I loved the dynamic between all four of them (hooray for found-family tropes!), and in a way, I can relate to Diz and her fear of parting ways.

And yes, there are numerous queer characters in the book and it’s absolutely delightful to read about them and know that it’s perfectly normal in their world.

Fast-paced and fun plot

Spellhacker has a fast-paced and a fun plot. I remember reading only the first chapter, and there were already action and adventure. I loved that!

The plot also touched on some points that made me more invested in the story, e.g. anti-capitalism, frequent natural disasters on their planet (which can be likened to global warming). There are some plot twists that were a little predictable for me though, so it wasn’t much of a surprise but I still managed to enjoy it.

Romance is also a significant part of the story, and y’all there was definitely a lot of pining. The chemistry was good and I couldn’t help but root for that pairing!

Awesome world-building

I also loved the world-building in this story. The author created such an interesting world, one filled with magic and science but also riddled with natural disasters. Would have loved to know more about their planet though. There were different fictional countries and cities mentioned, but there weren’t much details about them. A map would have been a nice addition as well!


Spellhacker Buy Links

Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Book DepositoryGoogle Books | Kobo | iTunes | Audible | Libro.fm | HarperCollins

About the Author

MKE Headshot 2016
M.K. England is an author and YA librarian who grew up on the Space Coast of Florida and now calls rural Virginia home. When they’re not writing or librarianing, MK can be found drowning in fandom, rolling dice at the gaming table, digging in the garden, or feeding their video game addiction. They love Star Wars with a desperate, heedless passion. It’s best if you never speak of Sherlock Holmes in their presence. You’ll regret it.

THE DISASTERS is their debut novel. Follow them at http://www.mkengland.com.

Goodreads | Twitter | InstagramTumblr | YouTube

Tour Schedule

See more reviews, interviews, guest posts, playlists, and dream casts from other wonderful bloggers in this blog tour hosted by The Fantastic Flying Book Club! Click here to see the tour schedule!

Giveaway

PRIZE: Win a signed hardcover of SPELLHACKER (US only), and one swag pack including a sticker, postcard, signed bookplate, and bookmark (INT)
STARTS: 15th January 2020
ENDS: 19th January 2020

Enter here!

a Rafflecopter givea way

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s