Most Anticipated 2021 Releases: Part 1

Hello book nerds!

Is it too late to share my most anticipated releases for 2021? Probably. But is that going to stop me from making this blog post? Nope. I think only sleep and work can. So here I am, about to list down upcoming 2021 titles I’m excited for! And since this is Part 1, I’ll only include books releasing from January to June 2021! Mind you, I tried to keep this list short, but there are a LOT of great books this year, AAAAHHHHH. Also, spoiler alert, most of the books in this list are probably going to be queer… and honestly, I love that for me!

Here are my most anticipated 2021 releases from January to June!

Most Anticipated 2021 Releases January to June Part 1

Winter’s Orbit

Genres/Tags: Adult, Science Fiction, Space Opera, LGBTQ+, Queer cast
Publication: February 2, 2021

Red, White & Royal Blue but make it space opera. That’s what this is about and damn, I was already sold! And fortunately for me, I already had the chance to read it… and I adored it! See my review here!

Fat Chance, Charlie Vega

Genres/Tags: Young Adult, Contemporary, Romance, Body-positive, POC, LGBTQ+ side character
Publication: February 2, 2021

First of all, that cover is so cute, I love it! Second of all, a coming of age/romance story starring a fat, brown girl? Sign me up! I have the e-arc on my Kindle and it’s up next on my TBR!

A Dark and Hollow Star

Genres/Tags: Young Adult, Urban Fantasy, Science Fiction Fantasy, LGBTQ+, Queer cast
Publication: February 23, 2021

Listen, if you tell me there’s an upcoming book with faeries, a magical underworld, and a queer cast written by a queer author, I have no choice but to add it immediately to this list.

Perfect on Paper

Genres/Tags: Young Adult, Contemporary, Realistic Fiction, Romcom, LGBTQ+, Bisexual MC, Sapphic
Publication: March 9, 2021

At this point, I think I will read anything from Sophie Gonzales. And when I first heard of Perfect on Paper and its bisexual main character in an m/f pairing, I knew this was going to be wonderful! Read my review here!

Can’t Take That Away

Genres/Tags: Young Adult, Contemporary, Realistic Fiction Coming of age, LGBTQ+, Genderqueer MC
Publication: March 9, 2021

An empowering and emotional debut about a genderqueer teen who finds the courage to stand up and speak out for equality when they are discriminated against by their high school administration.” If you hear any screaming, that’s just me.

Most Anticipated 2021 Releases January to June Part 2

Sweet and Bitter Magic

Genres/Tags: Young Adult, Fantasy, Paranormal, LGBTQ+, Sapphic
Publication: March 9, 2021

A debut fantasy perfect for fans of Sorcery of Thorns (which I adored), with a cover so beautiful I could cry, and to make it even more interesting, it’s sapphic?! I need this in my hands.

Lost in the Never Woods

Genres/Tags: Young Adult, Mystery, Fairy tale, Retelling
Publication: March 23, 2021

Ever since Cemetery Boys, I’ve been craving to read another work from Aiden Thomas. Now here’s their sophomore novel, and it’s a Peter Pan retelling. I am ready!

Between Perfect and Real

Genres/Tags: Young Adult, Contemporary, Romance, LGBTQ+, Trans MC
Publication: April 13, 2021

A moving YA debut about a trans boy finding his voice—and himself.” A trans guy gets casted as a “nontraditional” Romeo and everyone at his high school thinks he’s a lesbian. I am already crying.

Victories Greater Than Death

Genres/Tags: Young Adult, Science Fiction Fantasy, Space Opera, LGBTQ+, Queer cast
Publication: April 13, 2021

First of all, that cover is too enticing to ignore. Second of all, aliens? Intergalactic war? Enemies to friends to lovers? LGBTQ+ heroes?! I’m here for all of it!

In Deeper Waters

Genres/Tags: Young Adult, Historical Fiction, Adventure, Fantasy, LGBTQ+, Queer cast
Publication: April 20, 2021

A young prince must rely on a mysterious stranger to save him when he is kidnapped during his coming-of-age tour in this swoony adventure…” Do I need to say more?!

Most Anticipated 2021 Releases January to June Part 3

She Drives Me Crazy

Genres/Tags: Young Adult, Contemporary, Rom com, LGBTQ+, Lesbian MC, Sapphic, POC cast
Publication: April 20, 2021

I loved the author’s Late to the Party and now I am all excited for her next book! To give you a preview: “High school nemeses fall in love in this queer YA rom com perfect for fans of Becky Albertalli and Casey McQuisten.

Cool for the Summer

Genres/Tags: Young Adult, Contemporary, Rom com, LGBTQ+, Bisexual MC
Publication: April 20, 2021

Another book with bi rep?! Oh yes, please! This time, our main character is torn between the boy of her literal dreams and a memory of a confusing, romantic, strangely perfect summer with a girl.

Every Body Shines

Genres/Tags: Young Adult, Contemporary, Anthologies, Body-positive, POC
Publication: May 11, 2021

When I heard that this book is an intersectional, feminist YA anthology celebrating body diversity and fat acceptance, I think I almost swooned. This is everything! (Also look at that beautiful cover!)

A Master of Djinn

Genres/Tags: Adult, Science Fiction Fantasy, Steampunk, LGBTQ+, Sapphic, POC
Publication: May 11, 2021

A Master of Djinn is the first full novel in the P. Djèlí Clark’s alternate Cairo universe! I am so so excited for this one, especially because I loved the first installment (a novella) in the series. I’m ready for supernatural beings, murders and mystery, a strong female cast, plus sapphic romance!

In the Ravenous Dark

Genres/Tags: Young Adult, Science Fiction Fantasy, LGBTQ+, Polyamory, Queer cast
Publication: May 18, 2021

A pansexual bloodmage reluctantly teams up with an undead spirit to start a rebellion among the living and the dead.” Please, that’s all I need to hear. I’m in!

Most Anticipated 2021 Releases January to June Part 4

May the Best Man Win

Genres/Tags: Young Adult, Contemporary, Romance, LGBTQ+, Trans MC
Publication: May 18, 2021

A trans boy enters a throw-down battle for the title of Homecoming King with the boy he dumped last summer…” *freeze frame* *record scratch* Rivals to lovers and second chance romance?! I NEED THIS.

Pumpkin’

Genres/Tags: Young Adult, Contemporary, Romance, LGBTQ+, Gay, Body-positive
Publication: May 25, 2021

Julie Murphy is back with the Dumplin-verse and this time, she’s bringing a fat, openly gay boy as the star of the book! I’m so pumped up! (Get it? *wink*)

The Witch King

Genres/Tags: Young Adult, Fantasy, Paranormal, LGBTQ+, Trans MC, POC cast
Publication: June 1, 2021

To save a fae kingdom, a trans witch must face his traumatic past and the royal fiancé he left behind.” Oh my, oh my. I love this already!

Jay’s Gay Agenda

Genres/Tags: Young Adult, Contemporary, Romance, Rom com, Realistic Fiction, LGBTQ+, Gay
Publication: June 1, 2021

First of all, that cover? Gorgeous! The premise? “...a moving and hilarious sex-positive story about the complexities of first loves, first hookups, and first heartbreaks...” Oh, I am so ready for this!

One Last Stop

Genres/Tags: New Adult, Contemporary, Romance, Science Fiction, LGBTQ+, Sapphic
Publication: June 1, 2021

I adored Red, White & Blue so is it really a surprise that this is one my most anticipated?! Also, sapphic romance and time travel?! I need this!

This is it now, my most anticipated 2021 releases for the first half of the year! I’ll be back some time around July for Part 2, so stay tuned!

Now, tell me, what are your most anticipated releases? Any book here that’s also on your list? Come tell me in the comments!

Support me on Ko-fi

6 thoughts on “Most Anticipated 2021 Releases: Part 1

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s