ARC Review: Ravenfall // Spooky, magical, heartfelt

Rating: 4 out of 5.

Title: Ravenfall
Author: Kalyn Josephson
Genre/s and tags: Middle grade, contemporary, fantasy, paranormal, supernatural
Publisher: Delacorte Press
Publication date: September 6, 2022
Content warnings: parental death, death, murder, violence
Goodreads synopsis: 

Ravenfall by Kalyn Josephson Book Cover

One magical inn, two kids with supernatural powers, and an ancient Celtic creature trying to destroy their world by Halloween night…

Halloweentown meets Supernatural in this spooky middle-grade series from the acclaimed author of the Storm Crow duology!

Thirteen-year-old Annabella Ballinkay has never been normal, even by her psychic family’s standards. Every generation uses their abilities to help run the Ravenfall Inn, a sprawling, magical B&B at the crossroads of the human world and the Otherworld. But it’s hard to contribute when your only power is foreseeing death.

So when fourteen-year-old Colin Pierce arrives at Ravenfall searching for his missing older brother and the supernatural creature who killed their parents, Anna jumps at the chance to help. But the mysteries tied to Colin go much deeper than either of them expects. . . .

As the two team up to find answers, they unearth Colin’s family’s secret past and discover that Colin has powers beyond his imagination. And now the supernatural creature, one with eerie origins in Celtic mythology, is coming after him. If Anna and Colin can’t stop the creature by Halloween night, the veil to the Otherworld could be ripped open–which would spell destruction for their world as they know it.

PicsArt_05-02-02.12.14

A big thank you to the author for sending the e-ARC my way for an honest review!
(This, of course, did not affect my overall opinion of the book.)

Hi book nerds! I don’t know about you, but reading middle grade novels always fun for me. And in this case, Ravenfall is a wonderful middle grade novel that ticked the boxes for me—from the plot, the Supernatural vibes, to the characters, to the setting, and more! So today, I’m sharing it with all of you!

Ravenfall is a spooky and magical middle grade novel you do not want to miss! With Celtic mythology, a sentient inn, psychics, and a family secret, it’s an adventure you’ll love.

Read More »

Genderbent tropes and queer identity: 3 Books That I Read for Pride 2022

Okay, so. This post is a month late! I know, I know, I’m sorry. But life happens, and long story short, May, June and July have ganged up on me. So I haven’t been active much, haven’t been reading much as I used to. However, I was still able to read a few books from my Pride TBR for this year!

And let me just say, I have been blessed with three amazing books! So here’s a quick rundown, as well as my mini reviews!

Flip The Script

Summary: An aspiring K-drama teen actress falls for the actress who plays the second lead in their show, instead of her fake co-star boyfriend.

My rating:

Rating: 4 out of 5.

What I think: This was my first read this June, and I can’t help but think how fitting it is. Flip the Script was just so cute and so fun, and most importantly, it shed some light on the queer community in South Korea and the entertainment industry in particular. It also gave us hope of what may come and what we can do to make a difference.

Read More »

ARC Review: No Gods, No Monsters // Captivating, diverse, and bewildering

Rating: 4.5 out of 5.

Title: No Gods, No Monsters
Author: Cadwell Turnbull
Series: Convergence Saga #1
Genre/s and tags: Adult, Urban Fantasy, Science Fiction, Horror, POC, LGBTQ+
Publisher: Blackstone Publishing
Publication date: September 7, 2021
Content warnings: Police brutality, Gun violence, Violence, Gore, Blood, Drug abuse, Domestic abuse, Death, Murder, Suicide, Suicide attempt
Goodreads synopsis: 

No Gods, No Monsters book cover

One October morning, Laina gets the news that her brother was shot and killed by Boston cops. But what looks like a case of police brutality soon reveals something much stranger. Monsters are real. And they want everyone to know it.

As creatures from myth and legend come out of the shadows, seeking safety through visibility, their emergence sets off a chain of seemingly unrelated events. Members of a local werewolf pack are threatened into silence. A professor follows a missing friend’s trail of bread crumbs to a mysterious secret society. And a young boy with unique abilities seeks refuge in a pro-monster organization with secrets of its own. Meanwhile, more people start disappearing, suicides and hate crimes increase, and protests erupt globally, both for and against the monsters.

At the center is a mystery no one thinks to ask: Why now? What has frightened the monsters out of the dark?

The world will soon find out.

PicsArt_05-02-02.12.14

I got an e-ARC from NetGalley!
(This, of course, did not affect my overall opinion of the book.)

Hello book nerds! I hope you’re doing good! September has been hectic for me, filled with stress and anxiety (definitely not the most fun), so that means I’ve been reading less. However, I think I found my favorite read of September, and it’s No Gods, No Monsters! I was able to get approved of an e-ARC from NetGalley a week before this book released and I was so excited to dive into it!

No Gods, No Monsters truly surprised me. Blending urban fantasy, science fiction, and horror, this book is a roller coaster ride highlighting humanity, the world, and the reality we know.

Read More »

ARC Review: Broken Web // Rich and immersive sequel

Rating: 4.5 out of 5.

Title: Broken Web
Author: Lori M. Lee
Series: Shamanborn #2
Genre/s and tags: Young Adult, Fantasy, High Fantasy. POC, LGBTQ+
Publisher: Page Street
Publication date: June 15, 2021
Content warnings: Violence, gore, war, blood, death of a parent
Goodreads synopsis: 

Broken Web book cover

The sequel to the hotly-anticipated Forest of Souls, an epic and immersive tale of destiny and sisterhood. Perfect for fans of Susan Dennard, Sarah J. Maas, and Netflix’s The Witcher!

The Soulless has woken from his centuries-long imprisonment. Now, he lurks in the Dead Wood recovering his strength, while Sirscha and her allies journey east to the shaman empire of Nuvalyn. Everyone believes she is a soulguide—a savior—but Sirscha knows the truth. She’s a monster, a soulrender like the Soulless, and if anyone discovers the truth, she’ll be executed.

But there’s nothing Sirscha won’t risk to stop the shaman responsible for the rot that’s killing her best friend. While the Soulless is formidable, like all shamans, his magic must be channeled through a familiar. If Sirscha can discover what—or who—that is, she might be able to cut him off from his power.

With Queen Meilyr bent on destroying the magical kingdoms, Sirscha finds herself caught between a war brewing in the east and the Soulless waiting in the west. She should be trying to unite what peoples she can to face their common enemies, but instead, her hunt for clues about the Soulless leads to a grim discovery, forcing Sirscha to question who her enemies really are.

PicsArt_05-02-02.12.14

Received an ARC for the publisher! Thank you Page Street!
(This, of course, did not affect my overall opinion of the book.)

Hello book nerds! I have another book review to share with you! And quite frankly, I’m a little embarrassed and annoyed at myself that I took long to pick this up! But then again, I’ve long reconciled with the fact that I won’t be able to read everything immediately because life happens, you can get busy, and more. That’s okay! Let’s not be too harsh on ourselves and allow ourselves to breathe before getting back to our TBRs. But, oof. Let’s get back to the topic at hand. 😅 *record scratch* *tape rewind*

Broken Web is a sequel that does not disappoint! From the rich (or should I say even richer) world-building, to the fantastic plot twists, all the way to the complex villain, it all just comes together to form this exciting and immersive sequel.

Read More »

Thoughts While Reading The Ikessar Falcon

Hello book nerds! It’s another tour stop day! Welcome to my stop on the The Ikessar Falcon Book Tour aka #DethroneTheDragonlord hosted by Caffeine Book Tours!

I have wanted to read The Wolf of Oren-Yaro for so long after hearing a lot of great things! When I found out that Shealea @ Caffeine Book Tours is hosting a blog tour for the sequel The Ikessar Falcon, I knew I had to try and join! And well, here we are! I read the two books back-to-back, and let me tell you it was a ride.

Today though, it’s all about The Ikessar Falcon!

Read More »