Book Review I'll Be The One

Book Review: I’ll Be The One

Rating: 5 out of 5.

Title: I’ll Be The One
Author: Lyla Lee
Genre/s and Tags: Young Adult, Contemporary, Romance, Rom-com, LGBTQ+ rep, Bisexual MC, Asian rep, POC cast
Content Warnings: Fatphobia, Emotional abuse, panic attack, online bullying/harassment
Goodreads synopsis:

The world of K-Pop has never met a star like this. Debut author Lyla Lee delivers a deliciously fun, thoughtful rom-com celebrating confidence and body positivity—perfect for fans of Jenny Han and Julie Murphy.

Skye Shin has heard it all. Fat girls shouldn’t dance. Wear bright colors. Shouldn’t call attention to themselves. But Skye dreams of joining the glittering world of K-Pop, and to do that, she’s about to break all the rules that society, the media, and even her own mother, have set for girls like her.

She’ll challenge thousands of other performers in an internationally televised competition looking for the next K-pop star, and she’ll do it better than anyone else.

When Skye nails her audition, she’s immediately swept into a whirlwind of countless practices, shocking performances, and the drama that comes with reality TV. What she doesn’t count on are the highly fat-phobic beauty standards of the Korean pop entertainment industry, her sudden media fame and scrutiny, or the sparks that soon fly with her fellow competitor, Henry Cho.

But Skye has her sights on becoming the world’s first plus-sized K-pop star, and that means winning the competition—without losing herself.

PicsArt_05-02-02.12.14

Big thanks to Epic Reads for sending me a finished copy of this book! Of course, it did not affect my overall opinion of the book.

This book immediately caught my eye early on! I was so excited for it because it features a fat, queer, Asian girl as the main character. I mean, hello, just look at the cover! I already loved this book for that. However, once I read the whole thing, I found myself loving it for more and more reasons.

I’ll Be The One is a fun and wonderful book, brimming with romance, confidence, and body positivity. Safe to say, it’s exactly what I needed in my life.

My thoughts on I’ll Be The One

This book was just so good and so enjoyable. It was a quick read, but it never lacked spark or excitement for me. From the story, to the romance, to the way it tackled fatphobia and body positivity, to the characters themselves, it was so good and I loved it!

It was so easy to immerse myself in the story from Skye’s perspective. We also have a lot of things in common, so I had no trouble connecting with her character immediately. Skye was fierce and hopeful, and I found myself cheering for her overall attitude and personality. I absolutely loved seeing a fat, queer Asian girl who’s confident and not afraid of taking up the space she deserves!

The way this book tackled fatphobia hit too close to home. Skye getting drastic and consistent fatphobic and body-shaming comments from a family member was too damn relatable, because I’ve experienced that, and I’m sure others did, too. Seeing Skye own who she is and be confident of herself was everything. It gave me so much hope and warmth, because as a fat girl myself, I admit there are times when I struggle with confidence, too.

Loved the romance in this book as well! I loved Skye and Henry’s chemistry, and I love that they exude such a wholesome and fun relationship. (More of this in YA please!)

I also love the queerness of this book! Henry and Skye are the bi icons we deserve. There were also queer minor characters who were amazing in their own way! My only grievance was that it wasn’t talked about more. Skye’s parents seemed to be in the dark about her sexuality, and Henry’s family were against his. It would have been nice to see the story expound on that and see the characters overcome this particular conflict.

And last but not the least, another thing why I loved this book? It has all the love and praise for BTS and I can’t help but agree! (I started reading this book because I was on a BTS high after watching so many videos and listening to their songs. Have to say, it was definitely a great decision.) Of course, this book also dived into the world of K-pop, highlighting both the good (the amazing artists, their music, and how far they’ve come) and the bad (how fatphobic it can be, and how other people fetishizes the culture). Kudos to the author for this!

Overall, I’ll Be The One is such a fun and thoughtful book, one that has a special place in my heart. I wish there were books like this when I was younger. Still, I’m very thankful that this book exists now and I had the chance to read it and fall in love with it. (Also very grateful that I received a signed copy from the author! Will forever cherish that copy!)

Quotes from the book 

​“I’m fat and I take up space, but that’s okay… I’m allowed to take up space just as much as anyone else.”

​​“​​I want to show people that it’s okay to not be model-thin and exhaust yourself to the point of hospitalization. That girl failed me, so I want to be my own hero.”

“You are beautiful… Don’t let anyone, not even yourself, tell you any different.”


Buy I’ll Be The One

Amazon | Book Depository | Bookshop


Have you read this book as well? What did you think of it? Come talk to me in the comments!

Also, feel free to check out one of my latest blog posts where I recommend YA books based on BTS songs! I’ll Be The One is one the books I recommended! 😉

Book Review: Only Mostly Devastated

Rating: 5 out of 5.

Title: Only Mostly Devastated
Author: Sophie Gonzales
Genre/s and Tags: Young Adult, Contemporary, Romance, Romcom, LGBTQ+ rep, Gay MC, Bisexual MC, POC cast
Content Warnings: Terminal illness, familial death, mild homophobia, mild biphobia, a lot of angst lol
Goodreads synopsis:

SIMON VS. THE HOMO SAPIENS AGENDA meets CLUELESS in this boy-meets-boy spin on Grease

Summer love…gone so fast.

Will Tavares is the dream summer fling―he’s fun, affectionate, kind―but just when Ollie thinks he’s found his Happily Ever After, summer vacation ends and Will stops texting Ollie back. Now Ollie is one prince short of his fairy tale ending, and to complicate the fairy tale further, a family emergency sees Ollie uprooted and enrolled at a new school across the country. Which he minds a little less when he realizes it’s the same school Will goes to…except Ollie finds that the sweet, comfortably queer guy he knew from summer isn’t the same one attending Collinswood High. This Will is a class clown, closeted―and, to be honest, a bit of a jerk.

Ollie has no intention of pining after a guy who clearly isn’t ready for a relationship, especially since this new, bro-y jock version of Will seems to go from hot to cold every other week. But then Will starts “coincidentally” popping up in every area of Ollie’s life, from music class to the lunch table, and Ollie finds his resolve weakening.

The last time he gave Will his heart, Will handed it back to him trampled and battered. Ollie would have to be an idiot to trust him with it again.

Right? Right.

PicsArt_05-02-02.12.14

This book was one of the my most anticipated releases for the first half of 2020. And earlier this month, I finally got my hands on a physical copy!

Only Mostly Devastated is the perfect YA queer romcom fix I needed. With summer romance, HSM vibes, and a whole lot of angst, this book is a great read.

My thoughts on Only Mostly Devastated

This book was just a breath of fresh air! It was the perfect YA romcom novel I’ve been craving for lately. It was funny and cute, but it was also sad and heartfelt. I couldn’t help but get into the emotions of the main character and relate to him. Surprisingly, this book was also full of angst, and I remember being so emotional early on in the book! Deadpan humor was also laced in the writing which was so good!

The characters were also captivating, and not just the major characters, but also the minor characters. I liked their individual character arcs, especially Lara’s (I spent a great deal of the first of half of the book hating her, and then by the end, I was rooting for her). I loved that these minor characters were not just there for the sake of it, but they were there and they had their own stories going. Will and Ollie were great major characters, and I believed in them and felt for them. The romance? Oh, how I loved it. It was full of angst, and fluff, and just a whole lot of feelings and I loved that.

The plot, though it was simple, was still very exciting and very poignant. We see Ollie overcome personal traumas and have self-realizations throughout the book. And of course, the minor characters’ stories also provided something in terms of the plot.

I also love how this book acknowledged several real life issues. It was such a pleasant surprise! It tackled topics including biphobia, girls with PCOS (polycystic ovary syndrome), men’s gross and unnecessary fetishization of lesbians and bisexual women, outing someone against their will, a girl choosing her career over a guy, and more! This was just so brilliantly done for me.

Overall, I think Only Mostly Devastated is a great YA romcom novel if you’re looking for something cute and sweet to enjoy.

Quotes from the book 

​I fled. I fled like a bigot dodging the concept of equality.

​​“​​There’s something about music, don’t you think? It makes everything feel so much easier, and nicer.”

“She’s bisexual. If she’s with a girl that doesn’t make her a lesbian. She’s still bi no matter who she’s dating.”


Buy Only Mostly Devastated

Amazon | Book Depository | Bookshop


So, I don’t know why it took me two weeks to write this review. It’s probably because I’ve been feeling kind of stressed lately because of personal stuff. But it’s here now, so yay!

Have you nerds read this book yet? What did you think? Tell me in the comments!