Mini Book Reviews: August-September 2021

Hello book nerds! I am back with another mini review recap! I might really start doing this bi-monthly now. Especially if I find myself stressed and caught up on a lot of things, much like the past few weeks, this might be a really great way to still share my reviews and talk to you nerds about books.

So for now, I am featuring my August and September reads! I read some amazing (and may not so amazing?) books these months. From spooky books, to queer books, boyband romance, witchy books, and more! I am so excited to share them with you!

Read More »

ARC Review: No Gods, No Monsters // Captivating, diverse, and bewildering

Rating: 4.5 out of 5.

Title: No Gods, No Monsters
Author: Cadwell Turnbull
Series: Convergence Saga #1
Genre/s and tags: Adult, Urban Fantasy, Science Fiction, Horror, POC, LGBTQ+
Publisher: Blackstone Publishing
Publication date: September 7, 2021
Content warnings: Police brutality, Gun violence, Violence, Gore, Blood, Drug abuse, Domestic abuse, Death, Murder, Suicide, Suicide attempt
Goodreads synopsis: 

No Gods, No Monsters book cover

One October morning, Laina gets the news that her brother was shot and killed by Boston cops. But what looks like a case of police brutality soon reveals something much stranger. Monsters are real. And they want everyone to know it.

As creatures from myth and legend come out of the shadows, seeking safety through visibility, their emergence sets off a chain of seemingly unrelated events. Members of a local werewolf pack are threatened into silence. A professor follows a missing friend’s trail of bread crumbs to a mysterious secret society. And a young boy with unique abilities seeks refuge in a pro-monster organization with secrets of its own. Meanwhile, more people start disappearing, suicides and hate crimes increase, and protests erupt globally, both for and against the monsters.

At the center is a mystery no one thinks to ask: Why now? What has frightened the monsters out of the dark?

The world will soon find out.

PicsArt_05-02-02.12.14

I got an e-ARC from NetGalley!
(This, of course, did not affect my overall opinion of the book.)

Hello book nerds! I hope you’re doing good! September has been hectic for me, filled with stress and anxiety (definitely not the most fun), so that means I’ve been reading less. However, I think I found my favorite read of September, and it’s No Gods, No Monsters! I was able to get approved of an e-ARC from NetGalley a week before this book released and I was so excited to dive into it!

No Gods, No Monsters truly surprised me. Blending urban fantasy, science fiction, and horror, this book is a roller coaster ride highlighting humanity, the world, and the reality we know.

Read More »

Book Review: The Witch King // This queer YA fantasy has everything

Rating: 5 out of 5.

Title: The Witch king
Author: H.E. Edgmon
Genre/s and tags: Young Adult, Paranormal, Fantasy, LGBTQ+
Publisher: Inkyard Press
Publication date: June 1, 2021
Content warnings: Physical assault, sexual harassment, child abuse/neglect, suicide attempt; misgendering, deadnaming (off page); consensual sex (not too graphic), physical violence, gore/blood, parental death
Goodreads synopsis: 

The Witch King book cover

To save a fae kingdom, a trans witch must face his traumatic past and the royal fiancé he left behind. This debut YA fantasy will leave you spellbound.

Wyatt would give anything to forget where he came from—but a kingdom demands its king.

In Asalin, fae rule and witches like Wyatt Croft…don’t. Wyatt’s betrothal to his best friend, fae prince Emyr North, was supposed to change that. But when Wyatt lost control of his magic one devastating night, he fled to the human world.

Now a coldly distant Emyr has hunted him down. Despite transgender Wyatt’s newfound identity and troubling past, Emyr has no intention of dissolving their engagement. In fact, he claims they must marry now or risk losing the throne. Jaded, Wyatt strikes a deal with the enemy, hoping to escape Asalin forever. But as he gets to know Emyr, Wyatt realizes the boy he once loved may still exist. And as the witches face worsening conditions, he must decide once and for all what’s more important—his people or his freedom.

PicsArt_05-02-02.12.14

Hello book nerds and bookmys! Happy September! It’s been a little while, I know and I’m sorry. I have been quite busy these past few weeks, and my stress and anxiety are on another level unfortunately. I wanted to take it slow for a moment and just take a break. But now I’m here to share my review of one of my anticipated releases! I’ve already shared my a mini review on my bookstagram account, but I feel like a detailed review is necessary for this one.

The Witch King has everything for me. Political intrigue, romance, honest discussions of gender and sexuality, world building, hilarious writing, all of these make up this unforgettable queer YA fantasy novel.

Read More »

ARC Review: Broken Web // Rich and immersive sequel

Rating: 4.5 out of 5.

Title: Broken Web
Author: Lori M. Lee
Series: Shamanborn #2
Genre/s and tags: Young Adult, Fantasy, High Fantasy. POC, LGBTQ+
Publisher: Page Street
Publication date: June 15, 2021
Content warnings: Violence, gore, war, blood, death of a parent
Goodreads synopsis: 

Broken Web book cover

The sequel to the hotly-anticipated Forest of Souls, an epic and immersive tale of destiny and sisterhood. Perfect for fans of Susan Dennard, Sarah J. Maas, and Netflix’s The Witcher!

The Soulless has woken from his centuries-long imprisonment. Now, he lurks in the Dead Wood recovering his strength, while Sirscha and her allies journey east to the shaman empire of Nuvalyn. Everyone believes she is a soulguide—a savior—but Sirscha knows the truth. She’s a monster, a soulrender like the Soulless, and if anyone discovers the truth, she’ll be executed.

But there’s nothing Sirscha won’t risk to stop the shaman responsible for the rot that’s killing her best friend. While the Soulless is formidable, like all shamans, his magic must be channeled through a familiar. If Sirscha can discover what—or who—that is, she might be able to cut him off from his power.

With Queen Meilyr bent on destroying the magical kingdoms, Sirscha finds herself caught between a war brewing in the east and the Soulless waiting in the west. She should be trying to unite what peoples she can to face their common enemies, but instead, her hunt for clues about the Soulless leads to a grim discovery, forcing Sirscha to question who her enemies really are.

PicsArt_05-02-02.12.14

Received an ARC for the publisher! Thank you Page Street!
(This, of course, did not affect my overall opinion of the book.)

Hello book nerds! I have another book review to share with you! And quite frankly, I’m a little embarrassed and annoyed at myself that I took long to pick this up! But then again, I’ve long reconciled with the fact that I won’t be able to read everything immediately because life happens, you can get busy, and more. That’s okay! Let’s not be too harsh on ourselves and allow ourselves to breathe before getting back to our TBRs. But, oof. Let’s get back to the topic at hand. 😅 *record scratch* *tape rewind*

Broken Web is a sequel that does not disappoint! From the rich (or should I say even richer) world-building, to the fantastic plot twists, all the way to the complex villain, it all just comes together to form this exciting and immersive sequel.

Read More »

Top 5 Reasons to Read How Moon Fuentez Fell in Love with the Universe

Hello book nerds! Today is a good day! Why’s that? Because it’s my tour stop on the How Moon Fuentez Fell in Love with the Universe Book Tour!

This book is an instant favorite. I swear, I loved it so much! What I thought was simply going to be a fun, enemies-to-lovers romance, turned out to be this beautiful, hilarious, profound, sex-positive, body-positive book that managed to throw me in an emotional roller coaster in the last hour of reading it. (I wish I was kidding but I am not! 😂) See my review Goodreads here!

For my tour stop today, I’m giving you five main reasons why you should read How Moon Fuentez Fell in Love with the Universe! Read down below:

Read More »