Reading Challenge: 20 LGBTQ+ Books in 2020

Hi book nerds! 2019 is coming to an end! Anyone here doing any challenges for the new year? Have you already set yours? I usually stick to the usual Goodreads Reading Challenge, but that’s about it. This 2020, I decided to set one for myself!

Just a couple of weeks ago, I was going through my 2019 reads and realized that I only read 13 LGBTQ+ books this year. 13! I was shocked and saddened that I only read this amount. I love reading diverse books, especially those that explore gender and sexuality. I believe opening ourselves to these kind of books and thoroughly reading them is important as we have the chance to understand our LGBTQ+ friends, be aware of their struggles, and know more about their stories. (And also because I believe it’s about time that we see and read about the LGBTQ+ community in the media other than the usual heteronormative roles and stories, acchhkk!).

And so, for 2020, I came up with a reading challenge for myself: to read 20 LGBTQ+ books in 2020. I first thought of this on bookstagram, and after doing a poll, I found out that others want to join in! So, hey, if you think you’re also up for this challenge, go ahead! 

The challenge is to read 20 LGBTQ+ books this 2020 (but if we can push for more, why not? That’s even better!). It doesn’t matter if it’s a 2020 release or a book that’s been published a few years back. The main goal is to read books that feature LGBTQ+ characters and stories, and to share these with others!

I also encourage everyone to strive for a meaningful and diverse reading challenge, so go and try to read queer books with various kinds of LGBTQ+ representations in all sorts of genres you can get your hands on.

And to keep us motivated, here’s a book bingo to go with the reading challenge! (Plus a progress template!)

20 LGBTQ+ Books in 2020 Book Bingo     20 LGBTQ+ Books in 2020 Reading Template

Special thanks to @blvckhmn for suggesting a book bingo!

Last but not the least, share your reads! Share your progress and tell us all about the books you read for this reading challenge! Share photos on bookstagram/Facebook/Twitter, share reviews on your blogs, or mark your book bingo cards or templates and share them on your stories! Go use the hashtag #20LGBTQBOOKSIN2020 !

And of course, have fun!

So how about you guys? Do you have a reading challenge for 2020 yet? Thinking of joining in here? Comment down below! I’d love to know what you think!


1/7/2021 Update: We have another reading challenge for 2021! Introducing #QueerBookFun2021!

29 thoughts on “Reading Challenge: 20 LGBTQ+ Books in 2020

  1. This is a great challenge! I host something similar, the Queer Lit Readathon on YouTube/Twitter/Instagram. We run two week long readathons a year (June and December) with a bingo board of challenges, and are also hosting two Queer Weekends (March and September) this year.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment